Character Warts

The edits are nearly finished, I hope. So, I can continue with what I’ve learned over the years. I said I would concentrate on Characters first, So this week, I’ll be writing about what I learned about Characters and their Warts. Today I want to define the term, because some authors have never heard of a Character wart, or it’s been called something else.

Warts are usually something we see, and we don’t like. They can be hidden, but we know they are there and we don’t like them. I.E. all the remedies to get rid of warts.

So what has this got to do with characters? Well, let’s look at characters. They represent real people. If they don’t seem real then the story is going to fall apart. Who cares about something that isn’t real, even if it’s an animal, it will have human traits, which make it seem real. So the next question has to be, have you ever seen or even heard of someone who is perfect. We’ll leave all religious discussions out of this. Perfection is what we strive for, but are we perfect?  Nope! I’m not and I don’t know anyone who is. So those imperfections are like those warts. Some hidden, some out in the open, things we’d like to get rid of, things that make us less than perfect.

So a character wart is something that makes the character less than perfect. And of course, there could be a thousand reasons. Over the next couple of days, I’ll talk about a heroine’s warts and how it effects the story, plot, and conflict. I’m sure you can come up with a hundred of your own, if you stop for a moment and ask what makes Aunt Harriet so nasty, or why your grandmother likes a different part of the family more than yours, or why all the kids in the neighborhood don’t like the lady next door.

Along with those warts, we also have to look at the things that make a heroine a heroine. Does she feed the neighborhood cookies, is your Aunt Harriet the best chicken fryer in the world.

Oh, dear. I’m starting to talk about food.  Must be lunch time. Until tomorrow when we talk about the heroine’s warts!

Allison

About allisonknight2014

I write historical, gothic and contemporary romance. After all, after 53 years of marriage to a great guy, I do know a bit about romance. I'm a retired teacher and no, I didn't teach English, have children, grandchildren and great grandchildren. I love to cook and hate to clean. Somehow, the writing satisfies both. Cooking up romance keeps me from cleaning!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

