Developing your Character

What I mean by that is your book character, not your personal one.  (grinning) That, I’m certain, is already developed. So, how do you start with a character?

You have a plot in mind, and you want to develop a memorable character. Unfortunately, you need to know that character. Now if you write by the seat of your pants (a punster) your character will become clearer as you write, and you may have to go back over and over to change some things, so I recommend you know something about your protagonist (Main character) as you begin.

Now there are all kinds of ways of developing a character. Interview your character, make a character chart, take a look at your notes, the journal I mentioned some writers use. Also look at relatives and friends, even people you aren’t fond of. Of course you don’t want to use all of them, but some of their experiences, attitudes, behavior might fit the character you want to write.

Also, think about the one person in your life who impressed you the most. What was there about that person that made such an impression? I remember a teacher I had. Some of her characteristics show up often in my heroines. She was definitely memorable!

Tomorrow more about a character interview and character chart.

Allison

About allisonknight2014

I write historical, gothic and contemporary romance. After all, after 53 years of marriage to a great guy, I do know a bit about romance. I'm a retired teacher and no, I didn't teach English, have children, grandchildren and great grandchildren. I love to cook and hate to clean. Somehow, the writing satisfies both. Cooking up romance keeps me from cleaning!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Developing your Character

  1. Stephanie Joyce Cole says:

    I took a class on character development from mystery writer Elizabeth George, and I was amazed at the extent of her preparation. Before she ever begins her (very long and involved) novels, she writes out an extensive biography of all her significant characters, from the physical (like age, weight, color eyes, gait, etc) to the psychological (strong and weak character traits, what the character does alone, core need, etc.), also including significant events in their personal history. I’ve found this to be a very useful process in my own writing.

Leave a Reply

