The Plots in Fairy Tales

Today, I’m going to consider the plots in Fairy Tales, and I’ll take three of my favorites.  Sorry if I missed one of your favorites. Let’s start with the classic “Snow White.” The plot is a simple one. Snow White is the poor little girl, being abused by a nasty step mother. You know the story. The plot is heroine is poor, abused, threatened with death and saved by a prince, with whom she falls in love and they live happily ever after.

The next one is “Cinderella”. Here again you know the story. Poor, abused, given a taste of happiness only to see it snatched away, then saved by another prince with whom she is already in love and they live happily ever after.

Let’s try “Sleeping Beauty”. Here we have a rich girl, happy, but envied. She is tricked, then saved by a prince with whom she falls in love and they live happily ever after.

I chose the first two to show the similarity and the last one is reversed. There’s a reason why these all work. There is a heroine, a hero, and a villain, and in the case of “Sleeping Beauty”, a couple of villains. The villain, or villains are intent on making the heroine’s life miserable. How they make their mischief is in reality conflict, probably the most important part of a plot, at least the part that makes the plot interesting. And of course you have to notice that in each one of the fairy tales, there is a HEA. (Happy Ever After) That’s what makes for the satisfaction of reading a romance. At least for the time being the world is a wonderful place for the hero and the heroine to be.

I’d be interested in hearing what plots you can find in your favorite fairy tales. And don’t worry, we’ll go into that business of conflict in depth a little later.

Next week we’ll take a look at characters. And what I’ve learned about developing the kind you don’t forget. Plan to stop by on Monday to see how I began.

And remember, today is the last day to register to win the Kindle at our Valentine Blog Hop. (see the first Blog of instructions)

Monday I’ll announce the winner of my Short Story (which my office cat will select). I’ll explain his technique on Monday, so if you want a chance at my digital short story, offer a comment on any of my Blogs this week.

Allison

About allisonknight2014

I write historical, gothic and contemporary romance. After all, after 53 years of marriage to a great guy, I do know a bit about romance. I'm a retired teacher and no, I didn't teach English, have children, grandchildren and great grandchildren. I love to cook and hate to clean. Somehow, the writing satisfies both. Cooking up romance keeps me from cleaning!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Plots in Fairy Tales

  1. There’s a lot more to Fairy Tales than most people think!
    I’m glad you included “Beauty & the Beast”. Cable TV in the UK at the moment is setting “Beauty & the Beast” against the “New Grimm” series. B&TB is [IMHO] a much better storyline.
    I’ve written Pantomime scripts for local Am-Dram groups, all with a Liverpool “scouse humour” twist. “Sleeping Beauty” was one, but the one I was most pleased with was “Aladdin” (though you might not include this in your definition of Fairy Tales)
    Regards
    Paul

Leave a Reply

