One more!

Oh, this plot is a fun one! And I can give you a fairy tale as the perfect example. Try Beauty and the Beast. This one is the plot of contrasts. The bad boy and the good girl.  (Don’t mean the beast is a bad boy, so let me give you another example). I love this one. The resident bad boy. Long hair, wild, constantly into trouble, considered by the townspeople to be worthless. And who is he attracted to, and who is attracted to him? Why the preacher’s daughter, the pure, ‘do nothing but good’ girl. This works well in either historical or contemporary romances. The rake and the innocent, the thief and the cop. I could go on and on. There are lots of examples and it’s a popular plot today. I won’t go into the subgenres of fantasy, science fiction romance or paranormal, but I think you can see where it would translate there as well.

Tomorrow we’ll look at some of the famous fairy tales and see what plots fit what story. I don’t think you’ll be that surprised.

And don’t forget to register for a chance to win the Kindle Paperwhite prize for our Valentine’s day hop, or forget to comment here to win a digital copy of my short story, “A Matter of Passion”.

Allison

About allisonknight2014

I write historical, gothic and contemporary romance. After all, after 53 years of marriage to a great guy, I do know a bit about romance. I'm a retired teacher and no, I didn't teach English, have children, grandchildren and great grandchildren. I love to cook and hate to clean. Somehow, the writing satisfies both. Cooking up romance keeps me from cleaning!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One more!

  1. I love the good girl/bad boy plots but oddly enough I don’t write them. Unless… do you count tortured heroes as the bad boy?

Leave a Reply

