Let’s start with plot

I’ll begin talking about fiction writing with a bit of insight on plot. A story has to have a plot. in other words, the plot is the story. It’s how the character gets from one point to another. The character can be anything, a rock, a wall, a house, a pet, a person. I’ll talk about characters later on, but for now let’s concentrate on plot.

First, there are those people who must have a plot beginning to end before they can begin to write a story. Those people are called plotters (for obvious reasons). Then others start with an idea and let their minds take them where ever it will. They are called panters, because they write by the seat of their pants. Steven King is one of the more famous of these people. I’m told he starts with a scene, or a character, and lets the plot develop as he writes. I’m a plotter. I know the beginning, the middle and the end of each book I write, even the short stories. Of course there are those who fit in-between. They might know the beginning and the middle but don’t know the end, or vice versa.

However, the plot is the story of a novel, short story or novella. I can give you a very short and boring romance plot. Boy meets girl, they date, fall in love, marry, have kids, retire, then die. Boring! So what goes into a good plot? Well stop by in a day or two to find out.

 

About allisonknight2014

I write historical, gothic and contemporary romance. After all, after 53 years of marriage to a great guy, I do know a bit about romance. I'm a retired teacher and no, I didn't teach English, have children, grandchildren and great grandchildren. I love to cook and hate to clean. Somehow, the writing satisfies both. Cooking up romance keeps me from cleaning!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

